About the department
  • Established in the year 1999
  • UG Programme (MBBS) since 1999
  • PG Programme MS since 2007, PG intake MS in Ophthalmology 4 per year

Sl.No. Name Designation
1 Dr.VijayPai Professor& HOD
2 Dr.Jayaram Shetty Professor
3 Dr. Hrishikesh Amin Professor
4 Dr. Subramanya Bhat Addnl. Professor
5 Dr.(Mrs.)Vasanthi Kotian Addnl. Professor
6 Dr. Nameeth D’Souza Assistant Professor
7 Dr.Puneeth Hegde Assistant Professor
8 Dr.Ajith Kumar Adyanthaya Sr. Resident
9 Dr.Raina Marieta Anto Jr.Resident
10 Dr.Andrea Jose Jr.Resident
11 Dr.Anjela Jose Jr.Resident
12 Dr.MithunThulasidas Jr.Resident
13 Dr.Pooja H V Jr.Resident
14 Dr.Madan Joshi Jr.Resident
15 Dr.Rahul Ramesh Jr.Resident
16 Dr.Reshma Raj M. Jr.Resident
17 Dr.Sumitha C.V. Jr.Resident
18 Dr. Anjana G S Jr.Resident
19 Dr. Chandrashekharayya H. Hiremath Jr.Resident
20 Dr. Mayank Tomar Jr.Resident
21 Dr. Mayreddy Vaishnavi Reddy Jr.Resident

Academic activities and Publications

The department is well equipped with all modern facilities required in diagnosis and treatment of various eye disorders.
  • Operative microscopes with beam splitter and recording facilities (Topcon, Zeiss,& Opto)
  • Phacoemulsification units (Alcon. Laurette, Geuder)
  • Vitrectomy endo laser unit ( Alcon Constellation)
  • Ophthalmic Lasers ( Argon,Yag – Lightmed & Iridex, LIO)
  • Fundus Camera ( Opto)
  • Automated Perimeter ( Humphrey field analyser)
  • Ophthalmic scans ( A- Scan, B-Scan)
  • Others
    • Ophthalmic chair units
    • Slit lamp including photo slit lamp
    • Pachymeter, Keratometer, Synotophor etc.

Ophthalmology department is actively involved in all health schemes offered by K.S. Hegde Hospital
  • 24 hours emergency service
  • OPD Facility week days 9 to 4.30, Sunday 9am -1pm
  • Cataract Surgeries including topical Phacoemulsification
  • Eye Banking and Corneal transplantation
  • Glaucoma surgeries
  • Squint and Oculoplasty
  • FFA and Argon laser photocoagulation
  • Yag capsulotomy and Iridotomy
  • Vitreo Retinal Services

Community Services
  • The department holds regular eye check-up camps during weekdays and Sundays. The patients requiring treatment, such as cataract surgery are brought to our hospital, and are operated free of cost under Netra Jyothi Programme.
  • Department of Ophthalmology with the help of MCF Mangalore adopts two villages every year, a total of 6 eye camps are conducted in these villages every year.
  • Department of Ophthalmology regularly attends to patients at Nitte Satellite Centre, and Primary health centres at B.C. Road, every 1st week of each month and Farangipete every Tuesday
  • Department of Ophthalmology in association with Akshyapatra (ISKCON) has started a year long programme of School Screening.
  • Regular visits to Gajaria Hospital and ophthalmic surgeries under unit.

Our department has an enthusiastic faculty with excellent team work attitude and co operation. Speciality clinics like cornea clinic, glaucoma clinic, Retina Clinic Squint & oculoplasty clinic are conducted regularly. We have an excellent patient load with variety of cases.

Awards & Achievements
Dr. Mithun Thulasidas Final Year Post Graduate student has won the best team award in the TOT session in 35th Annual conference of Karnataka State Ophthalmic Society on 18th to 20th November 2016 at UVA Meridian Convention Centre Koteshwara Udupi.